Basic Handgun

This course is for individuals who simply want to learn more about handguns. Prerequisites are that you currently own a firearm and consider yourself reasonably proficient in its use. You are not required to possess the State of Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License.

The course includes 2.5 to 3.0 hours of classroom instruction. No live ammunition is permitted in the classroom and there is no Firing Range practice at the end of the course. A USCCA Graduation Certificate will be awarded to those who finish the course.

This class is only offered by special arrangement to groups of at least 4 persons: $75 per person, plus $25 for textbook. Contact the Chief Instructor for more information.

Content outline:

Introduction

  • Agenda

Self-Defense Firearm Basics

  • Universal safety rules
  • Clearing a semi-automatic
  • Clearing a revolver
  • Additional safety considerations
  • Defining a gun’s action
  • Understanding revolvers
  • Understanding semi-automatics
  • Modern, striker-fired handguns
  • What happens when the trigger is pressed
  • Understanding magazines
  • Selecting a handgun
  • Pros and cons of handgun choices
  • Ammunition components
  • Ammunition care and storage
  • Common ammunition malfunctions
  • Clearing semi-automatic malfunctions
  • Other use of force options

Defensive Shooting Fundamentals

  • Defensive shooting versus marksmanship
  • Proper grip
  • Shooting platform
  • Aligning the muzzle to the target
  • Unsighted fire, point shooting
  • Flash sight picture
  • Sighted fire
  • Trigger control

Gear and Gadgets

  • Gear and gadgets introduction
  • Holster retention
  • Hip Holsters
  • Paddle holsters
  • Pocket holsters
  • Inside the waistband holsters
  • Non-traditional holsters
  • Belts
  • Tactical flashlights
  • Considering a laser sight
  • Mounted lights
  • Gun safes and storage

Basic and Advanced Skills

  • Creating a training program
  • Dry firing
  • Fundamental drill discussion
  • Discussion of what’s next
  • Closing thoughts

How Florida Law Applies


Home Defense

This course is for individuals who wish to keep a firearm in their home for self-protection but do not feel the need to obtain a State of Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License.

It is not required that you already own a firearm. The State license is not necessary for keeping a firearm in the home or for transporting a firearm in a car. The course includes 2.5 to 3.0 hours of classroom instruction. No live ammunition is permitted in the classroom and there is no Firing Range practice at the end of the course. A USCCA Graduation Certificate will be awarded to those who finish the course.

This class is offered only by special arrangement to groups of at least 4 persons: $75 per person, plus $25 for textbook. Contact the Chief Instructor for more information.

Content outline:

Introduction

  • Agenda
  • Statistics and trends

Developing a Personal and Home Protection Plan

  • Defining a personal protection plan
  • Why conflict avoidance is so important
  • Home Security
  • Home alarms
  • Home security checklist
  • Home defense
  • Home defense checklist
  • Mental exercises

Self-Defense Firearm Basics

  • Universal safety rules
  • Clearing a semi-automatic
  • Clearing a revolver
  • Defining a gun’s action
  • Understanding revolvers
  • Understanding semi-automatics
  • Modern, striker-fired handguns
  • Understanding magazines
  • Selecting a handgun
  • Home defense shotgun fundamentals
  • Defining gauge
  • Shotgun chokes
  • The AR-15 platform
  • Ammunition components
  • Ammunition care and storage

Defensive Shooting Fundamentals

  • Defensive shooting versus marksmanship
  • Proper grip
  • Shooting platform
  • Aligning the muzzle to the target
  • Unsighted fire, point shooting
  • Flash sight picture
  • Sighted fire
  • Trigger control

The Legal Use of Force

  •  Defending the home
  •  Defending property

Violent Encounters and Their Aftermath

  • When we’re left with no other choice
  • When the right to use deadly force ends
  • The immediate aftermath
  • Phone calls to make
  • When the police arrive
  • Statement to the police
  • During and after your arrest

Gear and Gadgets

  • Tactical flashlights
  • Considering a laser sight
  • Mounted lights
  • Gun safes and storage

Basic and Advanced Skills

  • Creating a training program
  • Dry firing
  • Fundamental drill discussion
  • Discussion of what’s next
  • Closing thoughts

How Florida Law Applies


Concealed Carry

Eligibility to receive a State of Florida License for Concealed Weapon or Firearm is determined by the State, not by the Instructor. If you are not eligible for the Florida License, then you should not attempt to take this course. If you have any questions about your eligibility, please contact the Chief Instructor. Below are some of the criteria that the State of Florida uses:

  • Is a resident and citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien.
  • Is 21 years of age or older.
  • Does not suffer from a physical disability which prevents the safe handling of a weapon or firearm.
  • Has not been convicted of a felony.
  • Has not been committed for the abuse of a controlled substance or been found guilty of a crime under the provisions of chapter 893 or similar laws of any other state relating to controlled substances within a 3-year period immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted.
  • Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages or other substances to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired.
  • Has not been adjudicated an incapacitated person under s.744.331, or similar laws of any other state, unless 5 years have elapsed since the applicant’s restoration to capacity by court order.
  • Has not been committed to a mental institution under chapter 394, or similar laws of any other state, unless the applicant produces a certificate from a licensed psychiatrist that he or she has not suffered from disability for at least 5 years prior to the date of submission of the application.
  • Has not had adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony or misdemeanor crime of domestic violence unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled, or the record has been sealed or expunged.
  • Has not been issued an injunction that is currently in force and effect and that restrains the applicant from committing acts of domestic violence or acts of repeat violence.
  • Is not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm by any other provision of Florida or federal law.
  • By successfully completing this course students will meet and exceed the required training requirements established by the State of Florida for a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License. The course includes 3.5 to 4.0 hours of classroom instruction plus another 1.0 to 1.5 hours at the firing range. While no live ammunition is permitted in the classroom, you will need to bring your unloaded firearm and 100 rounds of ammunition to the range. A USCCA Graduation Certificate will be awarded to those who finish the course. This Certificate must be submitted to the State when you apply for your license.

    This is a regularly scheduled class, so check calendar for dates. Cost: $50 per person, plus $25 for textbook. If you do not have a firearm, one can be rented from the Chief Instructor for $15, which includes ammunition.

    Content outline:

    Introduction

    • Agenda
    • Statistics and trends

    Developing a Personal and Home Protection Plan

    • Defining a personal protection plan
    • Why conflict avoidance is so important
    • Situational awareness
    • The color codes of awareness
    • Areas to avoid
    • Cover, concealment, and an exit strategy
    • How a permit to carry fits

    Self-Defense Firearm Basics

    • Universal safety rules
    • Clearing a semi-automatic
    • Clearing a revolver
    • Defining a gun’s action
    • Understanding revolvers
    • Understanding semi-automatics
    • Modern, striker-fired handguns
    • What happens when the trigger is pressed
    • Understanding magazines
    • Selecting a handgun
    • Ammunition components
    • Ammunition care and storage

    Defensive Shooting Fundamentals

    • Defensive shooting versus marksmanship
    • Proper grip
    • Shooting platform
    • Aligning the muzzle to the target
    • Unsighted fire, point shooting
    • Flash sight picture
    • Sighted fire
    • Trigger control

    The Legal Use of Force

    • Defining reasonable force
    • Detailed definitions of deadly force rule including scenarios
    • What prosecutors will want to know
    • Defending the home
    • Defending property

    Violent Encounters and Their Aftermath

    • Understanding fight or flight
    • Effects of adrenaline and endorphins
    • Recognizing a threat
    • Issuing commands and evaluationg options
    • When we’re left with no other choice
    • When the right to use deadly force ends
    • The immediate aftermath
    • Phone calls to make
    • When the police arrive
    • Statement to the police
    • During and after your arrest

    Gear and Gadgets

    • Hip Holsters
    • Paddle holsters
    • Pocket holsters
    • Inside the waistband holsters
    • Tactical flashlights
    • Gun safes and storage

    Basic and Advanced Skills

    • Creating a training program
    • Dry firing
    • Fundamental drill discussion
    • Discussion of what’s next

    How Florida Law Applies

    • Test your knowledge of Florida Concealed Carry Laws
    • What the Carry Law provides
    • Training required
    • Applying for a permit
    • Process of approval
    • Denials and how to handle them
    • Requirements for displaying license
    • Where carrying is banned or otherwise restricted
    • Castle Doctrine and related statutes
    • Pending legislation

    Demonstration of Proficiency at Firing Range